Alex Miller

Alex Miller

Alex Miller won the 2003 Miles Franklin Award for Journey to the Stone Country. He also won the Miles Franklin Award, the Commonwealth Writers Prize and the Barbara Ramsden Award for best book of the year in 1993 with his third novel, The Ancestor Game. In 1995, he published his critically acclaimed novella, The Sitters. Conditions of Faith, his fifth novel was published in 2000 and won the Christina Stead Prize for fiction in the 2001 NSW Premiers Literary Awards. It was also nominated for the Dublin IMPAC International Literature Award and was shortlisted for the Colin Roderick Award in 2000, the Age Book of the Year Award and the Miles Franklin Award in 2001.

Alex was born in London of an Irish mother and a Scottish father. He came alone to Australia at the age of seventeen and for some years worked as an itinerant stockman on cattle stations in Central Queensland and the Gulf Country. Alex eventually travelled south and enrolled at Melbourne University.

For more information on Alex Miller’s books go to


Books by this author

Journey to the Stone Country
ANNABELLE BECK IS ATTEMPTING to escape the end of her marriage by returning to her family home in tropical North Queensland. Rather than quietly licking her wounds alone, she meets Bo Rennie, a stockman from the Jangga tribe who she first met years ago as a child. Bo mysteriously claims to hold the key to her future.