Kate Forsyth

Kate Forsyth

Kate Forsyth is a bestselling fantasy novelist whose books have been published in the US, Germany and in Australia. Her series, The Witches of Eileanan, is six books in total. The first book, Dragonclaw, was short-listed for the 1997 Aurealis awards for Best Australian Fantasy Novel, debuted at No. 8 on the Locus “bestsellers” list and was chosen as one of the best fantasy books of the year in a Locus readers’ poll. Book 3, The Cursed Towers, was also shortlisted for the 1999 Aurealis awards in the same category.

Kate is descended from a fine line of women writers including Charlotte Barton — the author of the first book for children ever published in Australia, A Mother’s Offering to her Children — and the first Australian-born woman novelist and one of the country’s earliest women journalists, Louisa Atkinson.

The Starthorn Tree was her first novel for children and is the beginning of a trilogy – books two and three are coming soon! However, her latest book for children Dragon Gold, is a delightful book for younger readers about home-made knights, self-declared princesses and irritable dragons.

Kate’s latest venture is the six-book The Chain of Charms series, set amongst the Gypsies of Cromwell’s England.

Kate lives with a black cat called Shadow, her husband Greg, her two beautiful boys and a beautiful baby girl in an inner-city suburb of Sydney.


Books by this author

The Gypsy Crown
GYPSY CHILDREN EMILIA AND Luka are forced to embark on a quest to find six ancient charms their grandmother says will save their family from the hangman’s noose. It won’t be easy. As well as the various challenges they must meet to gain each charm, the brutal thief Coldham is also hot on their heels.

Kate Forsyth takes a rich array of characters through historically factual events. A thrilling start to an epic six-book adventure.

Recommended for age 12+