A land of rugged beauty, landlocked Afghanistan is bounded by Central Asia (including the former Soviet states of Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan) to the north, India and Pakistan to the south and east, China to the north east and Iran to the west. The central and eastern parts of the country are dominated by the Hindu Kush mountain range, which elsewhere softens into plateaus, deserts and rolling grasslands.
Afghanistan’s Ministry of Information and Culture finds its origins in the Directorate of Independent Media, set up in 1946. After 1978 the Ministry divided into three separate committees: the Cultural Committee, the Press and Distribution Committee, and the Radio and Television Committee.